RSS

I love the smell of crayons in the morning!

05 Jan

OK, it may be time for a bit of a disclaimer here. The hubby quotes movies and TV shows quite often. I have sort of picked up the habit. However, I frequently misquote said quotes. Sometimes on purpose. This is one of those times.

So anyway, I have both girls home from school for winter break right now. Which means I have to be creative and come up with some fun new activities to keep them entertained or spend my day as referee. I don’t own any black and white striped shirts, so activities it is. To keep them guessing we switched up the usual schedule, stayed in jammies all morning, ate breakfast in the living room, you know all the silly little things they don’t get to do on school days. The kicker, after lunch it was bath time. Yes, in the middle of the day. I filled the tub and threw in a tray full of purple ice cubes. They had a blast chasing them around the tub until they melted. Then they loved that the water was just a bit pink. A good half – hour of entertainment. Side-note: it’s amazing how much ironing you can get done in half an hour.

But the really unusual activity I had planned for today was to melt down all our bits and pieces of old crayons and make our own new shiny ones.

My three-year old like to chew on crayons. Yes, still. (If anyone has ideas on how to make that stop, I’d seriously love to hear it.) So we had lots of crayons with bite marks and no papers. We took the rest of the papers off (use an X-acto knife to slice them and they come right off.) Then I had the girls break them into little pieces and sort them into paper cups by color. We mixed blues and purples with white and we combined the reds and pinks together. When we were finished we had eight cups of crayon chunks.

We melted the chunks down in the microwave right in the cups at one minute intervals, stirring after each minute. I always had two or three cups in at the same time. Each cup took about 4 minutes to melt all the way, depending on how large the chunks or how full the cup. When stirring, make sure to use a wooden stick (I just used old pencils – not perfect, but it worked).

Once all the chunks were melted, I zapped them all again (at the same time) for about a minute and a half, since some of the early ones had set back up.

Now it was time to pour our crayons. We used plastic candy molds that I got at Wal-mart. Andrew and I did the pouring according the instructions from the girls so that the colors would be swirled the way that they wanted. Then I topped them off with some ultra fine glitter. They set up fully in about 45 minutes and popped out of the candy mold easily.

Be careful when pouring, the wax is very hot and is ridiculously hard to get out if you spill it on something. I was smart enough to cover my table, but not to wear an apron. OOPS. Also, if your mold is designed to make lollipops, like mine is, be careful not to overfill it as the molten wax will run right out the convenient little channel they leave for the stick.  Again, OOPS.

We had quite a bit of extra wax left over to do a second batch, all I had to do was warm the wax up again for a couple of minutes. This time, I put the glitter in the tray before I poured the wax. I think I like that better since it seemed to swirl in a little better.

All in all, a fun activity to do with the kiddos. And who knows, maybe Ava will stop eating the crayons if they don’t have the papers on them. One can hope right?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in Tutorial, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “I love the smell of crayons in the morning!

Leave a Reply

 
