RSS

DIY Spray-painted Vase

10 Jan

It doesn’t feel much like winter here in Iowa. We really haven’t had much snow and it has been unseasonably warm. Believe me, I’m not complaining. But all this warm weather (and green grass) has me thinking about spring.

As I was wondering through my local Wal-Mart this morning, I spotted their fresh-cut flowers and their vibrant colors just screamed at me to grab them.

So with apologies to my husband (who HATES tulips) I grabbed a lovely orange bunch.

But now I need to have something equally pretty to put them in – the pink milk powder container just isn’t cutting it.

I had this vase in the cupboard and thought that I could make it more interesting. I’ve seen these painted jars on Pintrest.

Doesn't everyone craft with the help of curious kittens? Hi Snarf!

I figured that would look great with my new vase. But I am not a huge fan of my own handwriting. So I made a quick printable on picnik and slipped it inside my vase as a guide. And used my glue gun to trace the letters and the heart.

Here’s how it looked

IMPORTANT: When your can of spray paint warns you to make sure your object is free of dirt, dust, and grease. That also means fingerprints. I seem to have ignored this warning and so my resulting paint job is a tad uneven in places.

I gave the vase 3 coats of glossy white paint and I am loving the result.

What do you think?

Oh, one last tip: I added a teaspoon of bleach to the water before I placed the flowers in the vase. This will keep the bacteria production at a minimum and will extend the life of your flowers. 

This is my first time trying a link up party. Wish me luck!

You can find me

Here

and

Here

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in Tutorial, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “DIY Spray-painted Vase

  1. Shannon Bardole

    January 10, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    At least you got orange flowers (even if he hates tulips…) 😉

     
  2. Dana Smith

    January 10, 2012 at 2:10 PM

    So pretty, Jacki! Love it!!

     
  3. Jo Bardole

    January 11, 2012 at 9:10 AM

    How could anyone hate tulips? Silly boy. At least you got his favorite color.

     
  4. todays date

    January 29, 2012 at 12:32 PM

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
