RSS

I Learned My Lesson…

31 Jan

There is something you may not know about me…

name label

I’m really super impatient. Not in ALL things, just most.

Especially when I think I have a good idea. I want it done NOW. I don’t care that I have 4 loads of laundry that need to be done, floors that should be cleaned, or a checkbook that I really should balance BEFORE making that trip to the store. I want to do it RIGHT NOW!

I’m working on it. I have a list of the projects I want to do in each room of our home. (Maybe I should prioritize that list….Hmmm)

But it isn’t just projects that I’m impatient to have completed. I’m also pretty impatient in relationships. I don’t mean like with my husband and kids (though I really am – again I’m working on it.) I mean relationships with people who don’t live in my home. I’ve said it before, we move… a lot. The thing about that is, I always expect to have new friends right away.

lerch

Sometimes I feel just like Lerch. Do you?

Guess what… that hasn’t EVER happened.

Why? Because relationships take work. I may be surrounded by very welcoming people, but it takes time and effort to get to know them and for them to get to know me. The fishbowl can be a very lonely place, but it doesn’t have to be.

My problem with patience has extended into this little virtual home too.

When I started this blog a little over a year ago, I had a million little ideas and plans and I wanted to share them with some huge adoring public. (I also have problems with realistic expectations.) But the masses never showed up. I quickly got discouraged and gave up. That isn’t really surprising is it?

perfection math

But, the truth is that sometimes I just really need to talk to someone. And even if only a handful of people read what I have to say or no one comments on my thoughts, I still have this need. So here’s to no more shame or embarrassment that my last post was 9 months ago. I’m back with a new plan and some realistic goals and expectations. Who knows, maybe someday I will be able to say that I am able to generate as much traffic as my bloggy idols. But if not, that’s okay too.

This is available as a printable! Just click on the photo to be taken to the original source.

Have you ever just given up on something you really cared about? Did you regret that choice? Will you join me in sucking up your hurt pride and giving it another go?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “I Learned My Lesson…

  1. Jessica

    January 31, 2013 at 3:19 PM

    I miss you! Thank you for your post, your creativity and you.

    I hope to see many more blogs and posts in the months to come.

     
  2. Dana

    January 31, 2013 at 7:53 PM

    Yay, Jacki! Glad you’re back! This was so insightful and hit a chord for me. I’m the same way with patience and projects. My problem is, I don’t finish them because I get discouraged. So my desk is a disaster, my unfinished January wreath is on the craft table, my checkbook is unbalanced, I have two loads of laundry to fold (and more now to wash). I set a goal this year to blog once a week…we’re good so far! Little steps, right?

     
  3. Shannon

    February 1, 2013 at 3:32 PM

    Did you get photos of all your homemade Christmas gifts? I only got to see the ones that were given at our family Christmas. And I’m sure there were more! I enjoy your blog. So I encourage you to post your creativity as it comes. I do read it! And remember, your blog got you that head warmer you wanted 😉

     
  4. Tori

    February 18, 2013 at 1:34 PM

    I hear you on the unrealistic expectations, that aren’t fulfilled, and the onset of disappointment….definitely been there! Way to give it another go!! Glad to have stumbled on your blog =)

     
  5. Maree

    March 30, 2013 at 10:55 PM

    My family has moved around endlessly, I know the feeling of feeling lonely and having to put oneself out there to connect with people. We usually come to the stage of just establishing friends and then it’s time to move. I have very unrealistic expectations on how fast things should progress….It’s good to find a sight that i can relate to…..Keep writing and being creative, people DO read them, you inspire through your honesty…

     
  6. Kristina

    June 2, 2013 at 3:59 AM

    Thanks for sharing about your impatience … I can relate 🙂 so yes, I have let my impatience interfere with the best laid plans. Here’s to a new day!!!

    Kristina
    Blogger, SeeingGod
    themoreyouseegod.blogspot.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
